Self-Exclusion & Responsible-Gambling Programme Statistics
No body counts self-exclusion worldwide, but a handful of national regulators and register operators publish their own totals. The largest sourced register is Great Britain's Gamstop, with over 562,000 people actively excluded at the end of 2025. Germany's OASIS system lists about 367,000 active blocks, though one person can hold more than one block. Sweden's Spelpaus had 134,484 excluded persons at 31 December 2025, the Netherlands' Cruks had 101,913 registrations in August 2025, Denmark's ROFUS had 68,026 registered players at the end of 2025, and Australia's BetStop had 37,247 active exclusions at 31 March 2026. Each register counts something slightly different on a different date, so this page shows what each one measures instead of ranking them.
Methodology & Why These Totals Don't Line Up
Each register is run by a different body and publishes a different kind of number. Every figure below is shown as its publisher reports it, with the unit, the reference date and the source named, and nothing is added together or force-ranked.
- UnitRegisters count different things. Gamstop reports people actively excluded, Spelinspektionen reports excluded persons, and Spillemyndigheden reports registered players. The Kansspelautoriteit reports registrations in Cruks, ACMA reports active exclusions and registrations since launch, and the Regierungspräsidium Darmstadt reports active blocks in OASIS. It notes that one person can be blocked more than once, so the number of blocked persons can differ from the number of blocks.
- Stock vs FlowA register total is not the same as registrations in a period. Gamstop's 562,000 is people actively excluded at the end of 2025, its 58,675 is registrations in the second half of 2025, and its 530,000 is cumulative registrations since 2018, published in February 2025. BetStop's 59,830 is cumulative registrations since launch, of which 37,247 are active.
- ScopeRegisters differ in what they cover. Denmark's ROFUS covers online gambling, land-based casinos and betting at licensed dealers, according to the Danish Gambling Authority. This page does not compare scope across registers beyond what each publisher states.
- DurationMinimum and maximum periods differ. Cruks has a six-month minimum. In OASIS, self-blocks last at least three months and third-party blocks at least one year, and 24-hour blocks are also possible. ROFUS offers temporary exclusions from 24 hours to six months, or a permanent exclusion that can be lifted only after a minimum of one year. Gamstop's shortest option is six months and its longest is five years. Sweden's Spelinspektionen has decided to introduce a new ten-day exclusion period.
- DateReference dates are not the same. Most totals are year-end 2025, BetStop is 31 March 2026, and Cruks is 18 August 2025. The OASIS press release does not state a reference date for its figure. Gamstop's 614,738 comes from an update published on 16 July 2026 without an as-at date.
Sourced Register Sizes
Countries are grouped by region. Each row names what the register counts and the date the figure refers to.
| Country | Register | What's counted | Figure | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Europe | |||||
| Great Britain | Gamstop | People actively excluded | 562,000+ | 31 Dec 2025 | Gamstop |
| Great Britain | Gamstop | Consumers currently on Gamstop Online | 614,738 | As-at date not stated; update published 16 Jul 2026 | Gamstop |
| Great Britain | Gamstop | Cumulative registrations since 2018 launch (over 1% of the adult population, per Gamstop) | 530,000+ | Published 7 Feb 2025 | Gamstop |
| Germany | OASIS | Active blocks (one person can hold more than one) | ~367,000 | Reference date not stated; press release 10 Feb 2026 | Regierungspräsidium Darmstadt |
| Sweden | Spelpaus | Excluded persons (101,803 men, 32,681 women) | 134,484 | 31 Dec 2025 | Spelinspektionen |
| Netherlands | Cruks | Registrations (total on the date) | 101,913 | 18 Aug 2025 | Kansspelautoriteit |
| Denmark | ROFUS | Registered players | 68,026 | 31 Dec 2025 | Spillemyndigheden |
| Spain | RGIAJ | New registrations (altas) in the year | 24,591 | 2024 | DGOJ |
| Asia-Pacific | |||||
| Australia | BetStop | Active exclusions | 37,247 | 31 Mar 2026 | ACMA |
| Australia | BetStop | Registrations since the 21 Aug 2023 launch | 59,830 | To end of Q3, FY2025-26 | ACMA |
Germany's figure counts blocks, not people. The figures in this table are rounded as the publisher states them ("over", "about"). Gamstop's 562,000 and 530,000 are not the same measure and are not directly comparable: the first is people actively excluded, the second is cumulative registrations.
Register Growth
Only series a publisher itself reports are shown. Percentage changes marked "calculated" are worked out here from the published totals.
| Country | Measure | Figure | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Europe | ||||
| Sweden | Excluded persons at year-end | 104,301 / 120,607 / 134,484 | 2023 / 2024 / 2025 | Spelinspektionen |
| Sweden | Change in excluded persons | +16,306 (+15.6%) / +13,877 (+11.5%) | 2024 / 2025 | Calculated; the report states +13,877 for 2025 |
| Denmark | Registered players at year-end | 46,152 / 55,899 / 68,026 | 2023 / 2024 / 2025 | Spillemyndigheden |
| Denmark | Change in registered players | +9,747 (+21.1%) / +12,127 (+21.7%) | 2024 / 2025 | Calculated; the report states just over 12,000 for 2025 |
| Great Britain | Registrations in the second half of the year | 58,675 | Jul-Dec 2025 | Gamstop |
| Great Britain | Change in registrations, year on year | +19% / +16% | H1 2025 vs H1 2024 / H1 2026 vs H1 2025 | Gamstop |
| Great Britain | Registrations in a record month | 10,344 / 12,236 | May 2025 / May 2026 | Gamstop |
| Netherlands | New registrations vs de-registrations | 9.3 thousand / 6.9 thousand | June 2025 | Kansspelautoriteit |
| Netherlands | Average rise in total registrations, per week | 504 | To 18 Aug 2025 (period not stated) | Kansspelautoriteit |
| Germany | Blocking applications processed | about 60,000 | 2025 | Regierungspräsidium Darmstadt |
| Spain | New registrations (altas) | 1,271 / 2,352 / 3,563 / 6,350 / 8,624 / 15,288 / 24,591 | 2012 / 2014 / 2016 / 2018 / 2020 / 2022 / 2024 | DGOJ (even years as shown by the source) |
| Asia-Pacific | ||||
| Australia | Registrations by financial year | 25,972 / 18,869 / 14,989 | FY2023-24 (from 21 Aug 2023) / FY2024-25 / Q1-Q3 FY2025-26 | ACMA; the last figure is the sum of 4,541, 5,477 and 4,971, calculated |
The Dutch monthly figures are stated for June 2025 in the Kansspelautoriteit report, which also says some people de-register and re-register straight away. The Gamstop record months are the months Gamstop describes as records.
Duration and Re-Entry
What registrants choose, how long exclusions last, and how many end early, where a publisher reports it.
| Country | Measure | Figure | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Great Britain | Share of registrants choosing a five-year exclusion | 47% | 2025 update, published 17 Feb 2026 | Gamstop |
| Great Britain | Share of those currently on Gamstop Online who chose five years | more than 1 in 2 | Update published 16 Jul 2026 | Gamstop |
| Great Britain | Share of all registrants choosing six months | 1 in 4 | Update published 16 Jul 2026 | Gamstop |
| Great Britain | Share of under-25s choosing the six-month minimum | 38% | Update published 16 Jul 2026 | Gamstop |
| Denmark | Registrations by exclusion type | Permanent 44,236 (65%); 6 months 11,366 (17%); 3 months 8,000 (12%); 1 month 4,360 (6%); 24 hours 64 | 1 Jan 2026 | Spillemyndigheden |
| Netherlands | Minimum registration period | 6 months | Report cut-off 30 Jun 2025 | Kansspelautoriteit |
| Netherlands | Involuntary registrations made by the regulator | 97 (from 126 requests) | 2024 | Kansspelautoriteit |
| Germany | Minimum block length | Self-block 3 months; third-party block 1 year | Current rules; 24-hour blocks also available | Regierungspräsidium Darmstadt |
| Sweden | Exclusion periods | New 10-day period decided; start date not stated | 2025 report | Spelinspektionen |
| Sweden | Survey respondents who have used Spelpaus (survey data, not register data) | 4% (5% of men, 3% of women); 62% aware of it | 2025 survey | Spelinspektionen |
| Australia | Registrations completed or cancelled early (combined) | 22,583 of 59,830 (37.7%) | 31 Mar 2026 | ACMA; the percentage is calculated |
Gamstop's "currently on Gamstop Online" and "all registrants" measures are different populations. BetStop's published figure combines exclusions that ran their course with those cancelled early and does not separate them. The Swedish survey rows are shares of survey respondents, not register counts.
Latest Published Register Sizes
The most recent active-register figure each publisher reports, drawn to the same scale. Dates differ and the units are not identical, so this chart shows magnitude only.
Active Register Size, Latest Published Figure
Denmark: Registered Players at Year-End, 2012-2025
The longest continuous register series any publisher reports on this page, from the Danish Gambling Authority's annual market report.
ROFUS Registered Players, Year-End
ROFUS Registrations by Exclusion Type, 1 January 2026
Helpline and Support Volumes
Contact volumes for the two national gambling helpline services where the operator publishes a count. These are contacts, not individual people, and they are not self-exclusion figures.
| Country | Service | Measure | Figure | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Great Britain | National Gambling Helpline (GamCare) | Contacts to the Helpline and its online services (calls and chats not separated) | 114,000+ | Apr 2025 to Mar 2026 | GamCare |
| Great Britain | National Gambling Helpline (GamCare) | Calls and online chats | 55,228 (+25%) | FY2023-24 | GamCare |
| Great Britain | National Gambling Helpline (GamCare) | Calls and online chats | 52,370 (+24%) | Calendar 2023 | GamCare |
| Great Britain | GamCare | Sessions and clients | 10,300+ sessions for 2,811 clients | Apr 2025 to Mar 2026 | GamCare |
| Denmark | StopSpillet | Contacts | 727 / 544 | 2025 / 2024 | Spillemyndigheden |
| Denmark | StopSpillet | Contacts in its opening year | 728 | 2019 | Spillemyndigheden |
| Denmark | StopSpillet | Contacts by caller, 2025 | Players 416 (57%); relatives 291 (40%); professionals 20 (3%) | 2025 | Spillemyndigheden |
GamCare's 2025/26 figure and its earlier figures use different wording ("Helpline and its online services" versus "calls and online chats"), cover different periods (financial year versus calendar year), and the 2025/26 source gives no prior-year comparison, so they are not shown as a trend. The percentage changes shown are those GamCare states. Denmark's StopSpillet counts "henvendelser" (contacts) by phone and chat without a channel split.
Frequently Asked Questions
How Many People Are Self-Excluded From Gambling Worldwide?
There is no worldwide count. National registers publish their own totals: over 562,000 people actively excluded through Gamstop in Great Britain at the end of 2025, about 367,000 active blocks in Germany's OASIS system, 134,484 excluded persons in Sweden's Spelpaus at 31 December 2025, 101,913 registrations in the Netherlands' Cruks in August 2025, 68,026 registered players in Denmark's ROFUS at the end of 2025, and 37,247 active exclusions in Australia's BetStop at 31 March 2026. Each counts something slightly different, so the figures should not be added together.
Why Can't Self-Exclusion Registers Be Compared Directly?
They differ in what they count (people, registrations or blocks), in reference date, and in rules such as minimum duration. Germany's OASIS counts blocks, and one person can hold more than one. Cruks has a six-month minimum, OASIS self-blocks have a three-month minimum, and Denmark's ROFUS allows exclusions from 24 hours. This page shows each figure with its unit and date instead of ranking them.
How Fast Are Self-Exclusion Registers Growing?
Sweden's and Denmark's year-end totals rose each year from 2023 to 2025. Sweden's Spelpaus went from 104,301 to 120,607 to 134,484, increases of 15.6% and 11.5%. Denmark's ROFUS went from 46,152 to 55,899 to 68,026, increases of 21.1% and 21.7%. Gamstop reported registrations 19% higher in the first half of 2025 than a year earlier, and 16% higher in the first half of 2026. The percentage changes for Sweden and Denmark are calculated from the published year-end totals.
How Long Does Self-Exclusion Last?
It depends on the register. Cruks requires at least six months. In Germany's OASIS, self-blocks last at least three months and third-party blocks at least one year, and 24-hour blocks are also possible. Denmark's ROFUS offers temporary exclusions from 24 hours to six months, or a permanent exclusion that can be lifted only after a minimum of one year, and on 1 January 2026 65% of its registrations were permanent. Gamstop's shortest option is six months and its longest is five years, and 47% of its registrants chose five years.
What Share of Adults Have Used Self-Exclusion?
Only some sources state it. Gamstop said in February 2025 that over 530,000 UK residents had registered since its 2018 launch, over 1% of the adult population. In a Swedish survey reported by Spelinspektionen in its 2025 annual report, 4% of respondents had used Spelpaus.
Sources
- Gamstop, Gamstop Online reports 40% rise in young adult registrations in second half of 2025, published 17 Feb 2026. gamstop.co.uk
- Gamstop, Gamstop Online reports a rise in under-25s registering at the end of sixth year, published 7 Feb 2025. gamstop.co.uk
- Gamstop, 2025 begins with record Gamstop Online registrations, published 18 Jul 2025. gamstop.co.uk
- Gamstop, Gamstop reports 16% increase in self-exclusion registrations (first half of 2026), published 16 Jul 2026. gamstop.co.uk
- Spelinspektionen (Swedish Gambling Authority), Årsredovisning 2025 (Spelpaus: Figure 1 and Table 21, and the survey results), and Årsredovisning 2024 (2023 figures, Table 17). 2025 report, 2024 report
- Spillemyndigheden (Danish Gambling Authority), Spilmarkedet i tal 2025 (ROFUS: Figures 8 to 10; StopSpillet: section 1.5), and 60,000 have self-excluded from gambling in ROFUS, published 24 Jun 2025 (exclusion options and coverage). spillemyndigheden.dk, news article
- Kansspelautoriteit (Netherlands Gambling Authority), Monitoringsrapportage online kansspelen najaar 2025 (Cruks: pages 5 and 23 to 25), and Jaarverslag Kansspelautoriteit 2024 (involuntary registrations). monitoring report, annual report
- Regierungspräsidium Darmstadt, Bilanz 2025: Mehr als fünf Milliarden Abfragen über das Spielersperrsystem OASIS, published 10 Feb 2026, and the OASIS statistics page (block durations). press release, statistics page
- Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA), BetStop National Self-Exclusion Register statistics, Q3 2025-26. acma.gov.au
- Dirección General de Ordenación del Juego (DGOJ, Spain), General Register of Gaming Access Bans (RGIAJ), statistics on new registrations (altas). ordenacionjuego.es
- GamCare, GamCare annual report 2025/26, published 27 Aug 2026; GamCare releases Annual Report following record breaking year of support on the National Gambling Helpline (2023-24), published 23 Dec 2024; and National Gambling Helpline hits record-breaking year (2023), published 31 Jan 2024. 2025/26, 2023-24, 2023
- Gambling Regulatory Authority of Ireland (GRAI), Players Safety (status of the National Gambling Exclusion Register). grai.ie